to do Your will…

will: the faculty by which a person decides on and initiates action; the thing that one desires or ordains (wish, desire, decision, choices, decree, command)

431ec82c551db0e9957b238ef67f346d

John 7:16-18
“Jesus answered, “My teaching is not my own. It comes from the one who sent me. Anyone who chooses to do the will of God will find out whether my teaching comes from God or whether I speak on my own. Whoever speaks on their own does so to gain personal glory, but he who seeks the glory of the one who sent him is a man of truth; there is nothing false about him.”

it says that we will know, but how? How do we recognize the voice of God? How do we hear from the Lord?

Faith and Reading Scripture:

Romans 10:17 “Consequently, faith comes from hearing the message, and the message is heard through the word about Christ.”

By having our ears (and hearts) open to hear:

Matthew 11:15 “Whoever has ears, let them hear.”
Proverbs 22:17 Thirty Sayings of the Wise: Saying 1 “Pay attention and turn your ear to the sayings of the wise; apply your heart to what I teach,”

Hearing from those around us who follow, submit, and are in line with God:

1 Thessalonians 2:13 “And we also thank God continually because, when you received the word of God, which you heard from us, you accepted it not as a human word, but as it actually is, the word of God, which is indeed at work in you who believe.”

Dreams, Visions, Prophetic Words or Signs from God:

1 Samuel 3 (specifically verses 6-21) Again the Lord called, “Samuel!” And Samuel got up and went to Eli and said, “Here I am; you called me.” “My son,” Eli said, “I did not call; go back and lie down.” Now Samuel did not yet know the Lord: The word of the Lord had not yet been revealed to him. A third time the Lord called, “Samuel!” And Samuel got up and went to Eli and said, “Here I am; you called me.” Then Eli realized that the Lord was calling the boy. So Eli told Samuel, “Go and lie down, and if he calls you, say, ‘Speak, Lord, for your servant is listening.’” So Samuel went and lay down in his place. The Lord came and stood there, calling as at the other times, “Samuel! Samuel!” Then Samuel said, “Speak, for your servant is listening.” And the Lord said to Samuel: “See, I am about to do something in Israel that will make the ears of everyone who hears about it tingle. At that time I will carry out against Eli everything I spoke against his family—from beginning to end. For I told him that I would judge his family forever because of the sin he knew about; his sons blasphemed God,[a]and he failed to restrain them. Therefore I swore to the house of Eli, ‘The guilt of Eli’s house will never be atoned for by sacrifice or offering.’” Samuel lay down until morning and then opened the doors of the house of the Lord. He was afraid to tell Eli the vision, but Eli called him and said, “Samuel, my son.” Samuel answered, “Here I am.” “What was it he said to you?” Eli asked. “Do not hide it from me. May God deal with you, be it ever so severely, if you hide from me anything he told you.” So Samuel told him everything, hiding nothing from him. Then Eli said, “He is the Lord; let him do what is good in his eyes.” The Lord was with Samuel as he grew up, and he let none of Samuel’s words fall to the ground. And all Israel from Dan to Beersheba recognized that Samuel was attested as a prophet of the Lord. The Lord continued to appear at Shiloh, and there he revealed himself to Samuel through his word.

God giving a sign when we ask Him to:

1 John 5:14 “This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us.”

Judges 6 (specifically verses 36-40) Gideon said to God, “If you will save Israel by my hand as you have promised— look, I will place a wool fleece on the threshing floor. If there is dew only on the fleece and all the ground is dry, then I will know that you will save Israel by my hand, as you said.” And that is what happened. Gideon rose early the next day; he squeezed the fleece and wrung out the dew—a bowlful of water. Then Gideon said to God, “Do not be angry with me. Let me make just one more request. Allow me one more test with the fleece, but this time make the fleece dry and let the ground be covered with dew.” That night God did so. Only the fleece was dry; all the ground was covered with dew.

Abide to the scripture. For the bible is the living word of God, He speaks to use through many ways (dreams, visions, other people, etc.) but He also speaks through the scripture. We have this tool, which is God breathed, spoken with life by our Lord. His word does not contradict itself, it is always true. It is useful for much (2 Timothy 3:16-17 “All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the servant of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.”) and equips us for even more. To walk according to the Word (which is written by the Lord) is to walk according Gods’ will and naturally our will should be that of the Lords’.

b1e78c753d80d6f9015766067cf58f9c

so the question: what is Gods’ will, and what is His will for our life? I believe (yes some might be similar) that each person has a different plan for their lives, from the moment we were conceived, the Lord, the Master Planner thought up what we would be able to do to best to serve Him, love Him, and carry out His plan for our life. I believe that, naturally, if we are doing the things that the Lord tells us to, in His word, then we are doing His will.

For example He tells us:

Mark 16:15-16 And he said to them, “Go into all the world and proclaim the gospel to the whole creation. Whoever believes and is baptized will be saved, but whoever does not believe will be condemned.”

Matthew 28:19 Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”

I think that it begins with scripture. To be in the word, dwelling in it, reading it, meditating on it, listening for God to speak through it. To have to word of God so innately inside of it that it is a part of us, which we cannot help but to live by, walk by, act out, and speak by. Every aspect of our life engulfed in Jesus and every aspect in line with what the Lord breathed from the beginning.

a9fe8190774563681c06e1deaf84785c.jpg

I was reading in my discipleship book and came across this… “Whether you one day travel to a people group who has never heard of Jesus, whether you help others go, or whether you start making disciples right where you are, we all share the call from Jesus to see disciples made of every nation on earth.”

41fe63b5ea5438eff049897845129b3d

Leave a Reply

